What are the beatitudes?


"Beatitude" comes from the Latin word "beatus," meaning blessed. At his Sermon on the Mount, Jesus used the Beatitudes to teach a new way to holiness.   We believe that living according to the Beatitudes can lead to a more just society and a closer relationship with God.  


There are several different versions of the Beatitudes in the Bible, and widely varying translations into English. Here is a common translation of the Beatitudes according to Matthew (Matthew 5:3-10).

  • Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
  • Blessed are they who mourn, for they shall be comforted.
  • Blessed are the meek, for they shall possess the earth.
  • Blessed are they who hunger and thirst for justice, for they shall be satisfied.
  • Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
  • Blessed are the pure of heart, for they shall see God.
  • Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called children of God.
  • Blessed are they who suffer persecution for justice sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.